Looking for FETAC courses? You need to look for QQI instead

By Anne Sexton - Last update

Get Daily news and updates directly to your Email

For over ten years, anyone looking for quality assured further education would search for FETAC courses. FETAC – the Further Education and Training Awards Council – was established 1n June, 2001. However, in November 2012, Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI) replaced FETAC.

FETAC made awards, as well as monitored further education programmes to assure their quality and standards. The organisation did not run education or training programmes.

Luckily, QQI does the same thing. This means instead of looking for FETAC courses, you need to look for QQI courses. You will also need to know where a QQI course falls on the ten-level National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ).

Here is a quick primer!

QQI in brief

QQI is a state agency established in 2012. Their functions include those previously carried out by the Further Education and Training Awards Council (FETAC); the Higher Education and Training Awards Council (HETAC); the Irish Universities Quality Board (IUQB) and the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland (NQAI).

Qualifications, Standards, Awards, Recognition

QQI is responsible for maintaining the NFQ. They are also an awarding body and set standards for awards they make in the NFQ.

QQI validates education and training programmes and make extensive awards in the further education and training sector including in the Education and Training Boards.

They also make awards in higher education mainly to students attending private colleges and educational institutions. Universities and institutes of technology generally make their own awards.

QQI also provide advice on recognition of foreign qualifications in Ireland and on the recognition of Irish qualifications abroad.

Quality Assurance

In the area of quality assurance, QQI are responsible for reviewing the effectiveness of quality assurance in further and higher education and training providers in Ireland.

This includes the universities, institutes of technology, Education and Training Boards and providers in the private further and higher education and training sectors (availing of QQI awards).

What does this mean?

In brief, education and training providers now offer QQI courses instead of FETAC ones. This means your course is accredited by QQI. However, there are a number of organisations in Ireland that also make awards. For more information on awarding bodies, please see this list.





Anne Sexton

Looking for FAS courses? SOLAS is Ireland's new FET Authority
Online courses and distance learning: a look at some of the specialists